Log in

The FAPAC Distinguished Public Service Scholarship Endowment Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization that promotes the recognition of Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) students. Since 2013, FAPAC has awarded scholarships to AANHPI students who exhibit academic excellence, demonstrate an interest in public service to become a future federal employee and demonstrate a continuous effort to foster diversity and inclusion in AANHPI communities. The scholarship is presented in honor of AANHPI leaders whose dedication and efforts in public service have opened doors for many others.

  • The late Congressman Dalip Singh Saund, an Indian American who was the first Asian Pacific American elected to Congress.
  • The former Secretary Norman Y. Mineta, a Japanese American who was the first Asian Pacific American to serve in two Cabinet positions as Secretary of Commerce and Secretary of Transportation.
  • The former Secretary Elaine L. Chao, a Chinese American who became the first Asian Pacific American woman to hold a Cabinet position, first as Secretary of Labor and then as Secretary of Transportation.

The awardee will receive a stipend of $5,000 towards his or her education.  

The award is presented during the FAPAC National Leadership Training Program (NLTP). The NLTP is held each year in the month of May to coincide with Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Heritage Month.

Submission Deadline:  8PM EST on FRIDAY FEBRUARY 23, 2024 
Point of Contact:

Want to support the scholarship? Make an online donation or email to contribute to the Endowment Fund!


  • Open to all college students of AANHPI heritage with U. S. citizenship
  • Currently enrolled in an accredited college or university in the United States
  • Degree-seeking students with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale
  • Not open to previous scholarship winners, (scholarship is issued ONE TIME to any Scholarship winner)
  • Not open to past or current Board members (NBOD or NBOO)  or their children/relatives
  • Not open to current Federal or State employees

Submission Process

  1. Application package shall include (in addition to the application form) , at a minimum, the items listed below. Incomplete packages will not be considered. 
    1. A letter of recommendation with detailed description of your service(s) to foster diversity and inclusion in the Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific American Islanders (AANHPI) communities;
    2. Transcripts from college(s) attended (or currently attending);
    3. Essay, up to two pages on the applicant’s summary of his/her contributions to promote diversity in the AANHPI communities and how leaders like former Secretary Elaine L. Chao serve as a role model;
    4. One-page biography; 
    5. Digital color or black and white head shot photo.
  2. Submit a complete application online. (REQUIRED)

Evaluation Process

The Award Committee is comprised of the Awards Committee Chair and a Panel of Judges. The Awards Committee will review each application based on the criteria below. Each criterion will be rated on a 25-point scale for a maximum of 100 points.
  • Criterion 1: Demonstrates interest and commitment to public service
  • Criterion 2: Demonstrates a continuous effort to foster diversity and inclusion in AANHPI communities
  • Criterion 3: Demonstrated leadership potential and desire for continued growth in leadership skills
  • Criterion 4: Excellence in academic achievement
The Awards Committee will select the scholarship winner with the highest average score and present the result to the FAPAC President for final review and approval. The awardee will be provided a formal notice of their selection in March 2024. The Awards Committee Chair will coordinate and confirm the award winner's attendance at the FAPAC's NLTP Civilian Awards Ceremony.  The Ceremony will be held at the National Conference Center in Leesburg Virginia in May 2024. 

Past Scholarship Winners

In Honor Of

Secretary Elaine L. Chao

Former Secretary of Labor and Secretary of Transportation

In Honor of

Secretary Norman Y. Mineta

Former Secretary of Commerce and Secretary of Transportation 

In Honor Of

Congressman Dalip Singh Saund

First Asian Pacific American elected to Congress


Yoo Ra Sung
Major: Master of Public Policy

Stanford University


Judy Zhou
Major: Culture and Politics

Georgetown University


Chloe Majzel

Major: International Studies & Economics
Minor: Asian American Studies & Chinese

Michigan State University

2021 Scholarship Winner

Rebecca Soo

Major: B.S. Sociology & Media Studies;
Minor: Public Policy
University of California, Berkeley

2020 Scholarship Winner

Alex T. Pham

Major: B.S. Biological Sciences, Minor Psychology
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

2019 Scholarship Winner

Nancy Trang (Center) with Marshall Space Flight Center Director Jody Singer (left) and FAPAC President Olivia Adrian (right)

Nancy Trang

Major: B.S./D.D.S. Combined Education
Howard University College of Dentistry

2018 Scholarship Winner

Jenny Chhea

Major: Juris Doctor
University of California Berkeley

2017 Scholarship Winner

Danicole Ramos

Major: Business Administration 
University of Seattle Washington

2016 Scholarship Winner

Nitisha Baronia

Major: Business Administration &
Political Science
University of California Berkeley

2015 Scholarship Winner

James H. Lau

Major: Biology & Chemistry
Hampden-Sydney College, Virginia

2014 Scholarship Winner

Mary June Flores

Major: Master of Public Policy &
Master of Public Health
Goldman School of Public Policy &
School of Public Health, University of California Berkeley

2013 Scholarship Winner

FAPAC President Farook Sait with Cindy Dihn

Cindy Dinh

Major: Juris Doctor & Master in Public Administration
University of California Berkeley &
Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

FAPAC is a 501 (c)(3) nonpartisan, nonprofit organization representing the civilian and military Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) employees in the Federal and District of Columbia governments.
Copyright ©2024 FAPAC •  P.O. Box 23184, Washington, D.C. 20026-3184

Email Us  Join Us  Privacy Statement