Log in

FAPAC Announces Winners of the 2020 FAPAC Awards

April 08, 2020 22:46 | Kelly Kim (Administrator)
Date: Wednesday, April 8, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 FAPAC Awards. These awards recognize civilians and military servicemembers who have made significant contributions to the advancement and promotion of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs).

The FAPAC Awards include the Uniformed Services, Civilian, and Distinguished Public Service Scholarship Awards.

The 2020 Honorees are:


  • LT Lu Wang, U.S. Navy
  • MSgt Travis W. Bulay, U.S. Air Force
  • MSgt Timothy Asa C. Tanbonliong, U.S. Air Force
  • TSgt Sarahlizamarie D. Pante-Berrios, U.S. Air Force
  • SSgt Michael E. Jolls, U.S. Air Force
  • LCDR Rhianna Macon, U.S. Coast Guard
  • LT John R. Santorum, U.S. Coast Guard
  • CPO Jacinto A. Sabangan, U.S. Coast Guard
  • CAPT Sally Hu, U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps


Outstanding Individual Leadership
  • Katherine Toth, Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency
  • Cindy N. Tran, Defense Contract Management Agency
  • Dr. Zina B. Sutch, Office of Personnel Management
Excellence in Individual Achievement
  • John Wilson Howerton, U.S. Army
  • Doris S. Tung, U.S. Navy
  • Jeffrey Clark Flora, Defense Counterintelligence and Security Agency
Diversity Excellence
  • Van R. Nguyen, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • Loucious Hires, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Courtney L. Wilkerson, Federal Aviation Administration


  • Alex T. Pham, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

“The winners of the 2020 FAPAC Awards have distinguished themselves by promoting the tenets of the U.S. Constitution, civil and human rights, equal opportunity, human relations, and public service,” said FAPAC President Olivia Adrian. “These men and women were selected for their exceptional leadership in advancing the Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.”

FAPAC has traditionally presented the FAPAC Awards during the annual National Leadership Training Program (NLTP) each May. Due to the current coronavirus (COVID-19) situation, the 2020 NLTP has been cancelled. The health and safety of all FAPAC Members and supporters remains our top priority and the decision to cancel this year’s NLTP did not come lightly. An in-person ceremony may be determined at a later date in accordance with guidance from federal and local officials.

Congratulations to this year’s Uniformed Services Awards, Civilian Awards, and Distinguished Public Service Scholarship honorees. FAPAC deeply appreciates the dedication and service of these individuals to our country and to the AAPI community. Their leadership and contributions make our government and communities a better and more equitable place to serve.

More details about the FAPAC Awards and descriptions of the honorees are available at

FAPAC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that promotes equal opportunity and cultural diversity for AAPIs within the Federal and District of Columbia governments. Since 1985, FAPAC has encouraged the participation and advancement of AAPIs in the government workforce.

FAPAC is a 501 (c)(3) nonpartisan, nonprofit organization representing the civilian and military Asian Pacific American (APA) employees in the Federal and District of Columbia governments.
Copyright ©2022 FAPAC • 12801 Fair Lakes Parkway, Fairfax, VA  22033 • P.O. Box 23184, Washington, D.C. 20026-3184

Email Us  Join Us  Donate  Privacy Statement