Log in


2013 FAPAC Civilian Awards and Military Awards Winners Announced

Washington D.C.(April 16, 2013) - The Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC) announced the 2013 FAPAC Civilian Awards and Military Awards winners in recognition of these individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) and the promotion of equal opportunity in the Federal and District of Columbia Government work force and the AAPI communities.

2013 FAPAC Civilian Awards Winners:

Outstanding Individual Leadership
SES: Giao L. Phan - U.S. Coast Guard
GS 11-15: Teresita G. Smith – Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA)

Excellence in Individual Achievement
GS 11-15: Nathan Kanale Sadowski – U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
GS 1-10: Elizabeth Tuaau - U.S. Air Force

Diversity Excellence
SES: Rowan Gould, DOI - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
GS 11-15: Charlene E. Gibert, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)


2013 FAPAC Military Meritorious Service Awards Winners:

U.S. Army: Sergeant First Class Jason Zielske
U.S. Marine Corps: Staff Sergeamt Ryan Lungerhausen
U.S. Air Force: Flight Commander Huy H. Tran
U.S. Army National Guard: Captain Hyo J. Cho
U.S. Air National Guard Technical Sergeant Iris Honrado
U.S. Coast Guard: Lieutenant Hermie Mendoza
U.S. Navy: Lieutenant Alexander Wann


The awards will be presented at the 28th Annual National Leadership Training Program to be held on May 6-10, 2013 at the Hilton Hotel and Executive Meeting Center, Long Beach, California.

FAPAC is organized exclusively for educational purposes within the meaning of Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. FAPAC is a non-profit, non-partisan organization representing the interests of over 155,000 civilian and military APA employees in the Federal and District of Columbia governments of all ranks. For more information, please visit

Congratulations to all the winners of the 2013 FAPAC Civilian Awards.